Welcome to Forum Vancouver, an online discussion community for Metro Vancouver Hide
We have message boards for you to chat about shopping, community events, places to eat, things to do and much more!
Consider helping our forum grow by sharing your knowledge about living in the Greater Vancouver area.

is free and only takes a few moments to complete.

Students BMLSc UBC average

Discussion in 'Employment and Students' started by boyDnK!, Dec 16, 2013.

1. boyDnK!

boyDnK! New Member

Hello Everyone,

I'm a new member of this forum so just in case I posted this thread on the wrong 'category'. I apologize.

I'm currently a UBC Science student. In fact I'm already in second year. As we all know, almost all science students are aiming to get into medical school- and I'm one of these hopefuls!

Recently, I'm having this notion of transferring to another faculty, which is BMLSc, its because I don't really enjoy my current major. I know I really want to work in health-care, that's why being in Science (I'm not even learning anything related to medicine) is not an ideal choice.

I just want to ask how's the BMLSc program? What's the admission average to get into the program?. I've already done some research, but it seems like they don't release any admission statistics.

My average is not so hot at the moment, I did poorly last year (mid 70s average), and I know if I keep continuing with my major (brutal science major :mad::mad:), my average will keep going down.

Also, I'm taking a course offered by the BMLSc program at the moment and I'm actually enjoying it. So, I'm wondering if this could be a good option?

Thank you very much for all of your insights! :)

2. milquetoast

milquetoast Senior Member

Hey there,

I remember years back the average to get in was about 85%, must be higher now with grade inflation. I'm pretty sure there was a page on the UBC site with all the program admission averages.

What's your current major? I was in honours physiology but switched out.