Welcome to Forum Vancouver, an online discussion community for Metro Vancouver Hide
We have message boards for you to chat about shopping, community events, places to eat, things to do and much more!
Consider helping our forum grow by sharing your knowledge about living in the Greater Vancouver area.

is free and only takes a few moments to complete.

Potentially moving to vancouver - opinions?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nateetan, Dec 30, 2011.

1. nateetan

nateetan New Member

Hey guys,
    I'm a young professional currently researching Vancouver as a potential place to live next year. I was wondering if anyone could give me some starting points for research on different neighborhoods / nearby cities and towns and to help me figure out which would suit me best.

I guess to sum up my needs - Ideally I would like to live somewhere relatively rural and peaceful, but with easy access to the downtown area. (20-30 minute drive / train)

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

And also any opinions on the city would be awesome. Just trying to gather info right now.

Thanks!

2. Henry

Henry Junior Member

Living in Vancouver is expensive.. I hope you're prepared with some cash before coming. The further away you are the cheaper the houses get. For a drive about a hour away, you can get a dream house for a cheap price. The houses near downtown are probably 2-3x the price compared to the drive a hour away. The Transit here is a bit more complicated than other cities, but when you get use to it, it'll be a breeze.

3. bac

bac New Member

Hi, i'm planning to move to vancouver too in spring this year.

4. Zaiger

Zaiger New Member