Welcome to Forum Vancouver, an online discussion community for Metro Vancouver Hide
We have message boards for you to chat about shopping, community events, places to eat, things to do and much more!
Consider helping our forum grow by sharing your knowledge about living in the Greater Vancouver area.

is free and only takes a few moments to complete.

Free Credit Check for Canadians

Discussion in 'Shopping Discussions' started by Jessica Lai, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. Jessica Lai

    Jessica Lai New Member

    I came across this website that offer free credit checks

    http://www.canadacreditchecker.com/ SCAM SCAM SCAM, DO NOT PUT IN YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION
  2. milquetoast

    milquetoast Senior Member

    That site screams sketchy, looks like a data miner. Check out the bogus testimonies that precede the date the domain was registered, not to mention the incomplete pages and scammy endorsements.

    Ontario, Canada

    Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
    Created on: 28-Jun-11
    Expires on: 28-Jun-12
    Last Updated on: 28-Jun-11

    Administrative Contact:
    [Removed] blackserieslol@hotmail.com

    Technical Contact:
    [Removed] blackserieslol@hotmail.com
    Ontario, Canada
  3. Jessica Lai

    Jessica Lai New Member

    Oh, I just got a credit report from them... Do you think the report is real? It's extremely detailed and even have my address and all my info.
  4. milquetoast

    milquetoast Senior Member

    Well... you put in your address and personal information so of course they'd be able to show that. I'd wager that it's a fake report.

    Since the website was created today, where did you even hear about it?

    Personally, I suggest going directly through Equifax or Transunion so your information doesn't get passed through middlemen.

    See my thread for instructions (it's free and easy): http://www.forumvancouver.com/threa...rt-in-canada-from-equifax-and-transunion.178/
  5. Jessica Lai

    Jessica Lai New Member

    I saw it in the local copy of 24 newspaper
  6. milquetoast

    milquetoast Senior Member

    I submitted some fake information with a disposable email address and it just said "Submission Received". In fact, the data is being collected using a nube HTML form builder: http://www.jotform.com/

    The confirmation email that they send after doesn't even come from the correct domain.
    Btw, I see that you've posted this site on RFD and Revscene, so I'm starting to think that this is your scam site. If it's not then I highly suggest that you contact the police and let the credit bureaus know that your personal information was stolen.
  7. Jessica Lai

    Jessica Lai New Member

    The website sent me a message saying I can get free service for a year if I link people to it.

    My information is stolen? What can I do to get it back?
  8. milquetoast

    milquetoast Senior Member

    ^Report the site to the police and explain the situation. They appear to have an Identity Theft Unit (ITU) that probably deals with phishing sites like this.

    Use the VPD non-emergency number: (604) 717-3321.

    Here is some information on identity theft: http://www.priv.gc.ca/fs-fi/02_05_d_10_e.cfm

    You should get proper credit reports from both Equifax and Transunion (see my linked thread above) and monitor for anything suspicious.
  9. Jessica Lai

    Jessica Lai New Member

    Alright thank you so much.

Share This Page