Welcome to Forum Vancouver, an online discussion community for Metro Vancouver Hide
We have message boards for you to chat about shopping, community events, places to eat, things to do and much more!
Consider helping our forum grow by sharing your knowledge about living in the Greater Vancouver area.

is free and only takes a few moments to complete.

Arts & Culture Carmen recital on January 8th in Vancouver - anyone fancy joining me?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lebou, Nov 2, 2010.

1. lebou

lebou New Member

Hi - I'm new to Vancouver and have seen advertised a very reasonably priced recital of Carmen on January 8, 2011 @ 7:30pm

At the Canadian Memorial United Church
    15th and Burrard, Vancouver, BC

Would anyone care to join me as a group for this? Looking to make some friends and enjoy an evening as my first New Years resolution - "Make more effort to do stuff!!"

This looks like it should be a great performance with professionals at a bargain price ($22) and I've never seen Carmen although I wouldn't admit it in company! Please send me a message from here or see their website for more details of performers etc http://www.vancoco.ca Thanks, James.

2. milquetoast

milquetoast Senior Member

Thanks for posting, the concept behind Vancouver Concert Opera Co-Operative (what a long name...) seems pretty cool. It looks like there's a student discount too, tickets are $16 which is a bargain.

Ever since Arts Club changed their Student Rush program, enjoying the arts in Vancouver has been ridiculously expensive so I seldom go.

3. lebou

lebou New Member

Exactly! "The arts" complain about dwindling attendances, yet prices are generally prohibitive!!! I was tempted to go and see both Billy Connolly and Grease recently until I saw the ticket prices!!

I thought this concert looked great value - especially considering that the performers, pianist, conductor etc are all "pro's" . . .